h1

The Haircut!

March 15, 2008

I did it!  It was scary and I still don’t recognize myself in the mirror.  I am so afraid of what my husband is going to say when he sees it.  I think it turned out a bit shorter than we discussed. 

The stylist, Sidney, started off by cutting off all the long stuff.  Hair was flying in all directions!! (If you click on the pictures you can see them bigger)

dsc005911-2.jpg

Then he bleached it and I had to sit and process under the dryer.  Then he applied a toner to get it a normal shade of blonde.  Then he cut it for real.  Here are some pictures of the finished product.  Please be honest when you let me know what you think.

hair-019.jpg     hair-017.jpg    hair-006.jpg

hair-002.jpg

24 comments

  1. I like it. Does not affect the apperance of your “nose size” Makes you look more sophisticated. The vertical picture reminds me of someone but can’t place it right off. I can see where you would not recognize yourself. I really do like it.


  2. You asked for honesty. I think it’s a little too short. However, the length it was cut to just before the coloring was PERFECT. Go with that length … either blond or natural.


  3. You know it’s funny because about 1/2 of the time I agree with you, Gail. I go back and forth but, the upside is that the grow-out has begun! For now, I’m just going to “own it”.


  4. I love it! I think it looks great. I am currently looking for a haircut for my 6 year old. She has long hair right now and it drives me crazy, she looks like we didn’t comb her hair as soon as she steps outside, and by the time she comes home from school everyone must think that she’s homeless! I think I’ll get hers a tad longer than yours, I can’t wait!


  5. I agree with Gail. I absolutely loved the cut right before you got it colored. And I liked the color, too. I could see that with a little bit of highlighting on you.


  6. I love it. It’s very sexy ! !


  7. I love it, too. In fact, I’m considering getting the same cut. I think the end result is much sexier and edgier than the cut shown in the post-dye pic, which does look alright, but is just kind of safe and boring. You’ve got the face to pull off something way better than “safe and boring.” You look like a kick-ass rock star with your new cut!


  8. Whoops — typo! I meant “than the cut shown in the PRE-dye” pic.


  9. Hey! Your short hair looks great! It’s definitely becoming more and more popular to have short hair. You can check out the latest short hairstyles here if you want: http://www.hairstyleswatch.com/sub/short-hairstyles

    But your looks great!


  10. I agree with Christina. I love the look. I’m thinking about getting the same hair cut. I just need to be brave first…

    you look fantastic!


  11. I think you look fantastic. You’ve got a beautiful face for this pixie cut – well done!!


  12. I just stumbled upon your blog while looking for pictures of short pixie haircuts. I absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE your haircut. I hope you still kept the cut short and did not cave into society’s stereotype that in order to look feminine a woman must have short hair. A woman with a short haircut is not only beautiful, she is approachable, self-confident in herself, not a SLAVE to hair appliances and also hairstyling time, and a kick-ass chick!

    PEOPLE…it’s just friggin hair! It will grow back!


  13. I like it! However, I think the front bangs could have been a little longer. It will grow out so no real problem. I have wanted to get the pixie cut myself. I wish you would have had a side, and back view. I have what I want in my head but to convey that is hard.


  14. Hahaha! That’s funny b/c the little bitty bangs are my favorite part!! I need to take some pictures of it now so you can all see what it looks like after a few months of growing and one slight touch up to the color. I did end up toning it down just a bit. Now it is a more golden blonde.
    PS…I still love it!


  15. My husband suggested I get a short haircut, I asked for a pixie not realizing how short it would be (like a crew cut). My husband loves it and I am not planning to let it grow out anytime soon. You look great, keep it for a while but just be yourself


  16. i don’t know you but stumbled across this site… i want a pixie too but haven’t gotten around to it. your cut and dye looks great =)


  17. omg i love your hair…i was looking for a pixie haircut end ended up on your blog….cool.i love it. i want that cut \(^0^)/


  18. Just stumbled across your site and I have to say I love your cut!! I just returned to the pixie myself after growing it for two years and I am so loving it short. And I love that I can style it messy on purpose!!

    Keep rockin the short ‘do!!!!


  19. Like many others, I stumbled upon your blog while looking for pictures of short pixie haircuts. I just cut mine uber-short and I love it too! Yours looks amazing, both ways, pre-color and after. You’re one of the lucky ones who can carry off any color and style- so glad you’re having fun with it!


  20. Hi

    i´m from German, sorry about my bad english.
    Im surched for a Pixie-Cut Photo, i found your´s in the Web. It looks like great!!
    I think, it will be my new Style, thanks for that Pictures of your new Hair-Style.
    Greetings Susanne from Germany


  21. I love your hair cut. It looks fabulous!


  22. Love it ! Beautiful, only confident sexy women can do this. Perfect hairstyle for you. Gorgeous.


  23. Its fab! i did the same recently, i was growing my hair for my wedding next July, my face shape is similar to yours so short definately looks better!


  24. Your cut looks great! Very chic and sexy. Also, very European…women there are so much more stylish and confident. I found this site looking for photos of cute very short hair…because I’m getting mine all lopped off next week! Thanks for posting your pics.



Leave a Reply

